About cancer

Cancer Networks

Staff in different cancer units and centres often work closely with each other, and with other health professionals looking after cancer patients. For an increasing number of years they have shared good practice and worked hard to develop a co-ordinated cancer service provision (under the umbrella of Cancer Networks).

Strategic Clinical Networks (SCNs) were established in April 2013, building on the success of the previous Cancer Networks. The Cancer Networks raised standards, supported easier and faster access to services, and helped improve practice.

The new structure focuses on four health conditions:

  • cancer
  • cardiovascular disease
  • maternity and children
  • mental health, dementia and neurological conditions.

SCNs are supported and funded by network support teams and are split into 12 geographical areas in England.

In Scotland, there are three Regional Cancer Networks (North of Scotland, South East Scotland and West of Scotland). Wales has two Cancer Networks, North Wales and South Wales).